A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Home city guide administration in nainital

Administration in Nainital

Administration in NainitalThe administrative setup of Nainital has been divided among the following sections: general administration, police administration, revenue administration, forest administration and others. The city has a Municipal Corporation, 460 Gram Panchayat, 44 Nyay Panchayat, 8 Development Blocks and 8 Tehsils. The 5 sub divisions are Nainital, Haldwani, Ramnagar, Dhari and Kosiyakutoli. The tehsils are divided as Nainital, Ramnagar, Haldwani, Kaladhuni, Dhari, Lalkuan, Betalghat and Kosiyakutoli. The District has 2 Member of Parliament and 6 Members of Legislative Assembly. All of them are dedicated to the betterment of Nainital and its people.

The general administration comes under the district magistrate. The Police Administration is responsible for Law and order and is; the revenue department is headed by the Additional District Magistrate and the sub division magistrate. The forest revenue is taken care by the forest administration, their job is also to keep land records and arms licenses. The Public Works Department, the Rural Engineering Service, Social Welfare Department are also operational and come under the administration of Nainital.

Nainital District Magistrate

District Magistrate is the head of the Nainital district of Uttarakhand. The job of the DM is to maintain law and order, administer revenue and monitor the development works and other government demands. The District Magistrate is appointed by the state government and also has the additional job of supervision of the jails, hearing cases under the IPC, distribution of loans and crisis management under communal riots. Shri Akshat Gupta, IAS, is the current District Magistrate and was selected in 2014.

Police Administration in Nainital

The police admiration is headed by the Senior Superintendent of Police and is further broken down among city SP, deputy SP, officers and sub inspectors. There are thirteen police stations dedicated to the people of Nainital located at Mallital, Bhowali, Tallital, Bhimtal, Haldwani, Mukteshwar, Ramnagar, Kaladhungi, Lalkuan, Chorgaliya, Betalghat, Kathgodam, & G.R.P. The revenue Patwaris are appointed for taking care of the law and order in the hilly regions. The fire service stations are located in Haldwani and Nainital.

Revenue Administration in Nainital

Tahsildars along with the Naib Tahsildars, Amins & other Tehsil staff are responsible for the work of revenue collection. Land record keeping is also done by Tehsils. It is maintained by Lekhpal/Patwaris at Tehsil. Each Lekhpal has a circle assigned to him, under which come 8 to 10 revenue villages and the revenue of a single village is kept as Khatauni or the records of rights. There are more than a thousand revenue villages in the district. The office of the District Magistrate supervises the work being done by the tehsils and their subordinates.

Forest Administration Nainital

The government of Nainital is very much dependent on the resource-rich forest of the district for its economy. A regular exporter of turpentine extract, timber wood and various types of herbs has made it necessary for the district to take proper care of the forest, which is the job of the forest administration, The department consists of DFOs, Conservator, Foresters, Rangers, etc. There are 400 van panchayat organised throughout the district.

District Court & High Court in Nainital

The district courts are established by the state government by the consultation of the High Court. A three tier system is followed by the district court. They are meant to serve justice to the people and are under the supervision of the high court of Uttarakhand.

In 2000, the Uttarakhand state was separated form Uttar Pradesh and at the same time, the High Court of Uttarakhand was established in Nainital. The building also known as the Old Secretariat acts as the High Court in Mallital. Constructed in 1900 the building houses a landscaped garden in front of it and the Naina Peak lies in the background. In the year 2007 a chamber was built for the Chief Justice Court and another for the block of lawyers.

Address: The High Court of Uttarakhand, Sherwin, Nainital, Uttarakhand, India – 263002

You may also like to visit

Major Cities You Must Know

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries